Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Welcome to the Writing-Gypsy Web Site.


Home Page Biographical Publications Grants/Awards News Contact Info

Biographical Info

Education

Work Experience

My writing has appeared in Chocolate for a Woman’s Heart (Simon & Schuster), Our Mothers Our Selves: Writers and Poets Celebrate Motherhood (Bergin & Garvy), Chicken Soup for the Single’s Soul (Health Communications, Inc.), At Grandmother’s Table (Fairview Press), CAT’S MEOW!: An Anthology of Cat Tales (Maine Rhode Publishers), Poets & Writers, CAT FANCY, The Writing Self, Sistersong, Crazyquilt Quarterly, Emrys Journal, la Joie: The Journal That Honors All Beings, Writing for Our Lives, Just Cats!, Women & Earth, and The Whole Cat Journal. I have also written Houdini (a cat novel for young adults in the tradition of Bambi and Black Beauty)and Souleiado (a time-travel novel).

Between 1994 and 1999, I won eight Certificates of Excellence and two Silver Muse Medallions from the Cat Writers’ Association (CWA), which I’ve been a member of since its founding in 1993: one of the Certificates was for an excerpt from the Houdini novel that appeared in Just Cats!, and both Muse Medallions were for "Making a Difference....," the animal-welfare column that I write for the same publication. And in 1996, I won The Writing Self’s Spring Contest with "Letter to Tim," which later appeared in Chocolate for a Woman’s Heart.  My poem "Deer in the Garden," won Burbage's Ltd. April 2000 Writing for Poetry Contest.

I have taught both fiction and non-fiction-writing through the Writer’s Digest School and presently work with Burbage’s, Ltd., a national company of writers. I belong not only to the CWA but also to the International Women’s Writing Guild (IWWG).

Top of Page


Education

Trinity College, Hartford, CT. M.A. in English, May 1988
B.A. in English, May 1983 (Graduated with Honors)
Phi Beta Kappa Commendation, May 1988


Top of Page


Work Experience

3/00 - Present Burbage's Ltd., Bowling Green, OH.  On-call Writer.
7/96 - 3/99 The Writer's Digest School, Cincinnati, OH.   Editorial Associate, teaching non-fiction- and fiction-writing
10/93 - Present Just Cats!, Orient, NY.  Columnist, book reviewer, and feature writer.
1/91 - 7/97 Animal Friends of Connecticut, West Hartford, CT.   Newsletter editor and chief writer.
10/91 - 12/92 Northeast, Hartford, CT.  Writer for The Wise Guide.
8/89 - 5/94 Fairfield County Woman, Stamford, CT.   Feature writer.
9/86 - 12/86 St. Joseph College, West Hartford, CT.  Visiting instructor in women's literature.
11/84 - 4/85 Associated Press, Hartford, CT.  Stringer
9/83 - 2/91 Hartford Woman, Hartford, CT.  Arts columnist and feature writer.
9/83 - 7/89 Trinity College, Hartford, CT.  Adjunct lecturer in English and women's studies.
7/79 - 5/88 The Hartford Courant, Hartford, CT.   Book reviewer.  Occasional feature writer and music critic.
1/80 - 5/82 The Farmington Valley Herald, Simsbury, CT.   Town correspondent and feature writer.

 

Top of Page

Site Design by Bagle Greens